Engine Swap Time

Search this Thread

Old May 5th, 2017, 09:55 AM

Engine Swap Time

Well, I can't procrastinate on this anymore although I think I'm subconsciously trying. I want to drive my '70 before June but need to swap engine/transmissions between it and the '72 first. I've never done this before, although I've pulled two engines from parts cars with the front end removed. I spent the last couple of days going through Macadoo's thread making notes of all the advice and lessons learned there. I'll throw my notes up here after I collate and format the comments a little better.

That thread has instilled in me a big fear of the MAWs, so I'm going to try and stay focussed on the essentials with the plan of going deeper later when I have more time. I've fashioned a pretty decent anti-MAW cap and am reciting the mantra "There's no time like tomorrow".

So why am I doing this? Well, I'm keeping the 1970 but it's currently powered by a 260 V8 while the 1972 has a strong 350 and transmission with a shift kit installed and working. The 1972 will be sold when I'm done. The 350 is actually a 1971 engine installed by a previous owner. I need to move that '72 on to a new owner and free up more shop space and cash to work on the '70.

My goal at the end is to have the '72 in a drivable state. It won't be perfect and will need additional maintenance but it will be complete and operational. I plan on doing some maintenance and restoration to the '70 during the process - clean and paint the 350 and the engine bay (quickly).