SB 350 idles fine in Park, almost dies when put into gear

Search this Thread

Old June 12th, 2011, 03:51 PM

SB 350 idles fine in Park, almost dies when put into gear

Hey all,

I am pretty new to this form, have never owned an Olds (until recently) and have never worked with a QuadraJet...question is...I have a newly rebuilt engine, SB350, CompCam 270D/501L cam...HEI ignition, stock exhaust manifolds, and Q-Jet carb. Problem is that the car idles just fine in Park, but once you drop it into gear, it wants to die. I literally have to drive with two feet to keep the thing running. Anybody on here have any insight as to what the problem might be? I had to do this before the motor was rebuilt as well. Any help/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

-kph
Old June 12th, 2011, 08:36 PM

Hi Kevin
I don't know the answer to your problem, but want to bring this thread back to the top. Did you do anything to the carb? Any kind of vacuum leak detectable? John
Old June 12th, 2011, 08:56 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Well, I'd say there's a wide variety of possibilities, and you need to narrow them down one by one.

Fuel is certainly one possibility.
  • You could have a vacuum leak, leaving the mixture a little to rich as you come off of idle (including a throttle shaft leak).
  • You could have blocked or corroded transition ports in your primary venturis.
  • You could have a bad accelerator pump or power valve.
  • Your idle mixture could be set way too lean, or your idle could just be set too low.
  • Maybe you could have a low float level.

Spark is another possibility.
  • You could have a number of bad spark plug wires, so that when the voltage requirement increases from bare minimum (at idle), the insulation can't hold the current, and they arc out to ground.
  • You could have a similar problem with carbon trails in your distributor cap.
  • Your timing could be off.

With more information, we may be able to offer more help.

- Eric