Picked up a '70 350

Search this Thread

Old April 29th, 2014, 11:11 AM

Picked up a '70 350

I bought a '70 350 for $200 off CL that allegedly was pulled from a running Delta some years back. It has been sitting for 3 or 4 years, has oil in it and turns free. I have been searching around and have a general idea of what I'd like to do. I'm on a scant budget so I'm planning on stripping the top down, cleaning and replacing gaskets, etc. I also want to change the timing chain. I'm new to this so if anyone is willing to share any tips or pointers, I'd be extremely grateful. I'm hoping to get it done and dropped into my '77 Cutlass Supreme in time for the Olds Homecoming.

TIA.
Old April 29th, 2014, 02:00 PM

If the heads have never been off then I would not take them off until I absolutely had to. The factory head gaskets were thin stamped steel and the aftermarket replacement gaskets are thick composition. Simply changing the head gaskets will drop the compression ratio due to the difference in gasket thickness.
Old April 30th, 2014, 04:15 AM

Originally Posted by Fun71
If the heads have never been off then I would not take them off until I absolutely had to. The factory head gaskets were thin stamped steel and the aftermarket replacement gaskets are thick composition. Simply changing the head gaskets will drop the compression ratio due to the difference in gasket thickness.
I had no idea. Great tip! Thanks for that!
Old April 30th, 2014, 04:58 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

High or low compression? Any idea how many miles?

It is definitely a good idea to check all the bearings, and probably replace the shells, unless they're really nice.

If it's a high compression motor, and you don't want to use an octane booster to get your fuel up around 95 octane, using the standard Fel-Pro head gaskets to reduce your CR to around 9.6:1 may be beneficial. If it's a low compression motor, I wouldn't advise it.