Oldsmobile 307 engine in 1989 Cadillac Brougham

Search this Thread

Old February 23rd, 2016, 01:47 AM

Oldsmobile 307 engine in 1989 Cadillac Brougham

Hi,

Just introduced myself in the proper section of this forum. I recently bought a 1989 Cadillac Brougham that has an Oldsmobile 307 engine. I have a check engine warning and pulled code that engine temperature sensor is faulty. When I look at front top of the intake manifold I see 2 different sensors. on the left side there is a sensor with only 1 green wire leaving the sensor. On the right side (right next to the other sensor) there is another sensor with 2 wires leaving the sensor, a yellow and black wire.
I need to change the sensor that controls the engine management...
I also noticed that when I start the car, the cooling fan is immediately on, even with a cold engine... it is not an electric fan, but the original fan that was on the car...
all the help is appreciated because I have no experience with those fine V8 engines, all we have here are those boring 4 cilinder diesel engines
Old February 23rd, 2016, 05:36 AM
Administrator

The sensor is the one with the green wire. The fan will always spin with the engine, the mechanical clutch it is attached to will vary in strength depending on temperature.
Old February 23rd, 2016, 06:41 AM

Hi Eric,

thank you for the info. So the sensor with the green wire is connected to the management system and communicates with carb and transmission. The other sensor with the yellow and black wire is just there for the red light on the dash that warns for high coolant temperature.
The sensor with the green wire has only 1 connection. How can this sensor be tested. I tried to test it with an Ohm meter, but the red wire of the tester on the connector and the black wire on the brass casing of the sensor but I end up with a solid 1 on the meter. Is that the correct way to test the sensor, or is there another way?

Last edited by fritzvis; February 23rd, 2016 at 06:50 AM.