I need more power and i need it now!

Search this Thread

Old April 20th, 2016, 11:17 AM
Gearhead in training

I need more power and i need it now!

Hey guys, im sure this has been answered before and mayne you can point me in the direction of a thread burried somewhere but ive got a 1983 olds custom cruiser and am looking for an increase in power, where should i start? I hate traveling next to a prius on a slight incline and having him pass me unless i floor it.. Anywhere i can start besides getting a 350 and swaping it out? Ive heard a few things going around about the heads being a large reason for that. Im no master mechanic by any means, but if given a goal to work towards i can figure it out. Id really like to give this puppy some juice and turn it into the pimp-mobile it deserves to be. Its seems to almost have trouble keeping itself going at idle, almost like an irregular heart beat is the best i can describe. I just want to hear this run tight and in order and be able to make her roar if needed. Also, wouldn't hurt giving that prius a taste of 2 tons of in your face you electric sucking devil.
Old April 20th, 2016, 12:37 PM
Just an Olds Guy

That is the unfortunate downside of the 307. Low hp and torque. Yes you could bolt a SBO 350 or 403 up to that 200 4R and you'd see an increase in performance. I always found that the 307 in my car was reliable as heck for starting, and decent for mileage (due to the trans) but lacked in power. You already have a 4bbl on the 307 so changing the carb isn't going to do much.

What you can do right now is check that your engine is properly tuned. You could also do a compression test to see how weak it really is. Don't forget that in 83 GM was looking for ways to increase fuel efficiency, but they did it at the expense of performance. Can you imagine your CC trying to pull a trailer? My 98 had enough problems pulling a boat/trailer. Comfy ride, but sucky performance.
Old April 20th, 2016, 01:01 PM
Gearhead in training