HP gains!

Search this Thread

Old February 6th, 2008, 02:47 PM

HP gains!

Hello I have an 1970 Cutlass S. I really do not know what the Block # are because I do not know where to exactly look. I was told it was the correct year motor. I will like to get more Hp out of the engine without having to pull it.I am a college student so my fund are not that abundant but I have a little over $1000 to spend. My teammate has an nice 1986 cutlass but put an (up for debate) 383 chevy stroker engine in it. I would like to show him a thing or two if possible. Thanks!!

P.S. His engine has an 600cfm Holley Double pumper on it. I did not know a 383 can run off that!!
Old February 6th, 2008, 03:38 PM

It is a 350 engine.
Old February 6th, 2008, 04:40 PM
Seasoned beater pilot.

First of all...
Thank you for wanting to keep the car Olds powered.

Second, the block number is behind the water pump next to the oil fill tube.
Right on top, just scrape off the crud.

I don't know if a grand is gonna cut it to beat that 383 however.
How old is his motor, and what rear end gears is he running? It seems he has you beat in the weight category too. An 86 is for sure a lighter car than a 70.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
casting number.jpg (33.0 KB, 13 views)
Old February 6th, 2008, 05:57 PM

I figured that but more power is always good in my book. Did I add that he says it is a $10,000 engine. He says it has an Posi unit with 4.11 gears in it with 22" rims on it. I just dont think it is what he say it is! He does drive the car everyday.

Last edited by dholmes898; February 6th, 2008 at 05:59 PM.
Old February 6th, 2008, 06:59 PM
Seasoned beater pilot.

Well, for 10 grand, that motor should wipe his fanny for him. Seems kinda ridiculous just for a daily driver chevy motor. From the sound of things so far, it'd be nice to shut him up by dusting it for dirt cheap. Especially if he's one of the types that got all that wasted money from his parents. I Don't know if he's a cool guy or not.