How isn't this a common problem

Search this Thread

Old September 14th, 2015, 02:41 PM

How isn't this a common problem

So I have recently realized there may be an issue with my 4 speed to olds 350 mating. This is my first project and I tend to avoid transmission talk because its often complex, anyway, what are my options to make it work? My cranks are both automatics I believe because they have the center hole that comes to a funnel like shape, I assumed this was a common issue considering it's a common engine to an extent and many run a standard trans, what's the deal!!!
Old September 14th, 2015, 04:57 PM
Olds Fever

You will have to find a crank which has been drilled to accept the pilot bushing/bearing for the output shaft of the standard transmission... Or you can have your crank machined.....
Old September 14th, 2015, 05:01 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by CRUZN 66
You will have to find a crank which has been drilled to accept the pilot bushing/bearing for the output shaft of the standard transmission... Or you can have your crank machined.....
Or, you can use the aftermarket conversion pilot bearing, which requires you to either trim the end of the trans input shaft or to drill a clearance hole in the end of the crank (which is much less critical than the machined bore required to use the factory pilot bearing). Be aware that some folks here have had problems with these aftermarket bearings. I have no first-hand experience so I can't comment either way.
Old September 14th, 2015, 06:21 PM

I deleted my post as I went back and found some old threads, so really, dont I just need to either make the hole deeper or cut the shaft and install the bearing?

Last edited by 1978 Oldsmobile Omega; September 14th, 2015 at 07:03 PM.
Old September 14th, 2015, 06:31 PM

Bottom of the page.

http://www.mondellotwister.com/Transmission.htm
Old September 14th, 2015, 07:10 PM

Originally Posted by svnt442