High altitude 403 build

Search this Thread

Old July 23rd, 2020, 04:09 AM

High altitude 403 build

It's my first build and I would like input. Shooting for safe operation on 89/91 octane. I live at 5,150' elevation so the cam would need sufficient vacuum for the brakes. It had 14" with the stock cam. At that elevation I could go a lot higher on the compression, but the problem is it will most likely be driven to sea level at some point and I'd prefer it to not need race gas at that elevation. It may end up a dog at my elevation if it needs to be built to survive at sea level on 91. Hoping for at least 350hp at my elevation. It also needs to work with the stock converter and 2.73 rear end. I have about $3,500 budget. The block work will be about $700 of that.

​​​​So far on the list is:
Pro Comp heads
Electric ​​fuel pump (Summit says 50gph is good enough for 600hp)
Voodoo 262/268
1.6 roller rockers
7111 intake with electric choke
​​HEI recurve kit (How's this one from summit?)
Is this gasket/ring/bearing kit a good deal?
Fel ​​​​​​ Pro .043 head gasket, so I'll need the pistons to sit about .005 out of the hole.
Has anyone used BBF pistons and milled the tops to get the desired flat top compression height?
3191HC says a top land of .296 and comp height 1.752
S3157HC says top land .408 and comp height 1.770
I don't know if the .408 is a typo or true(seems like a big difference from .296), if true you could have a compression height of any where from 1.77-1.562 going with a .200 top land that I've read is the safe minimum for NA.

Can the stock 403 intake manifold be port matched to the Pro Comp heads, or will I have to go with a 7111? I'd think it can if 2711/3711 can be and they're supposed to be a copy.Why do people get oil restrictors in the block and a 7-8qt pan? I would think I don't need that with my mild build. I've also read not to use vacuum advance. Why not?
Can the stock rod and main bolts be reused? I know the head bolts can't.
Thanks for any help.