Finishing the Build

Search this Thread

Old April 28th, 2015, 09:01 AM

Finishing the Build

Good Afternoon,

I am starting a new thread to tidy up some questions I have about finishing my build. A thread I had previously was torn up in a sea of theory and debate. The purpose of this thread is to be Concrete as I am not turning back on cam, carb, intake etc. What is done is done. This is my first build and I am looking to gain insight from those who have done it before so I can not fall into surprise traps and learn.

To summerize:

83 H/O

Motor: 1970 block .030 over. Stock #6 heads (CC'd @ 66), springs, retainers, rocker arms replaced. Pistons are Probe -3 cc forged pistons (currently on 6 week back order and counting), awaiting final measurement for rings, stock nodular crank (being cut/balanced before final assembly), performer RPM intake, comp xe 268 cam, quick fuel 750 slayer carb, griffin radiator, hayden 2747 clutch, new 850 CCA battery/alternator/Bosch starter, H.E.I distributor.

Transmission- 2004r oz w/shift kit, 20k miles.

Rear- Eaton 3:73 with stock stall (2400) 15k miles

Exhaust- hedman headers- x pipe- 40 series flow masters 2.25in system (1 year old)

I am not equipped to do the swap myself and I am extremely picky about how I want things done. The local (and accredited ) speed shop quoted by 800 for install/tune (minus fluids/belts). My plan is to drive it over with the parts in the trunk new in box, have the motor dropped off and pick up a turn key machine.

-What are some things that I should prepare for that I may have overlooked?
- Does 800 sound reasonable (it does to me but I'm a novice)
-Are there some messages I should pass along before fina assembly of the motor **that weren't covered in the previous thread titled "cam advice needed"