1963 F-85 looking to swap 327/400

Search this Thread

Old September 18th, 2008, 02:12 PM

1963 F-85 looking to swap 327/400

Hello,

I am new to the Classic Oldsmobile site. I bought the F-85 Cutlass with the intention to rebuild/restore it. Boy did I pick the wrong year to do. Well now I am stuck with it. I have the original aluminum engine and transmission for the car. I did research on the rebuild kit...$1600! I am thinking of scrapping the engine and tranny for a Chevy 327 and TH400. Does anybody here have any ideas on my swap or should I just rebuild the 215?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian
Old September 18th, 2008, 03:02 PM

If i remember right that is a very cool looking buggy, congrats on the find. I think you should sell it to me right now. Seriously, olds engines are not as common as the sbc, so they are going to cost more. most people here will suggest you stay with an olds engine, myself included. But that is just us. You own the car and have to live with the decisions you make. Do what makes you happy. I might look int a 350, or a 403 possably, but am not really familiar with the car, and don't know what is feasable or economical.
Old September 18th, 2008, 06:50 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Suddog
Hello,

I am new to the Classic Oldsmobile site. I bought the F-85 Cutlass with the intention to rebuild/restore it. Boy did I pick the wrong year to do. Well now I am stuck with it. I have the original aluminum engine and transmission for the car. I did research on the rebuild kit...$1600! I am thinking of scrapping the engine and tranny for a Chevy 327 and TH400. Does anybody here have any ideas on my swap or should I just rebuild the 215?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian
Brian,