No HOP Bars

Search this Thread

Old April 1st, 2021 | 11:55 AM

No HOP Bars

I picked up a rear that included no-hop bars I do not plan on racing
According to the post below It appears I should remove them for street use. Thoughts?
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...prings-107345/

Old April 1st, 2021 | 12:11 PM

They aren't just for race use but I prefer lower control arm relocation brackets instead. Both move the intersect point farther back in the car but the relocation brackets also move it up as well. The no-hops tend to hit the trunk floor when you hit bumps and have passengers in the back seat.
Old April 1st, 2021 | 02:36 PM

Ive been using No-hops for over 30 years, and have never had them hit anywhere
Old April 1st, 2021 | 02:38 PM

Those are extremely tall no-hop bars. If you aren't racing, get rid of them. In addition to what Chadman said above, they make the instant center virtual swing arm length very short, which will also cause the rear tires to lock up easier under hard braking.

I have the TA Performance ones on mine (half the height of those) and the car rides noticeably rougher, it also plants the tires quite a bit harder. I haven't had any issues street driving it.

Old April 2nd, 2021 | 10:57 AM

Use adjustable controll arms, adjust pinion angle so it does not unload tires under force.
Change shocks and tune suspension. No- bars not needed.
Old April 2nd, 2021 | 12:05 PM

Originally Posted by 69455
Use adjustable controll arms, adjust pinion angle so it does not unload tires under force.
Please explain this. I'm smack dab in the middle of this game right now on my 67.
https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/real...ok-t17109.html

I have UMI control arms (adj upper), cheap CE 3way single adjustable shocks, and new springs that lowered the rear 2". I've been trying Bickel's tricks, too. https://www.onallcylinders.com/2015/04/23/figure-four-a-guide-to-tuning-your-four-link-suspension-system/