Efi

Search this Thread

Old May 10th, 2024, 02:33 PM

Efi

Need some help with an EFI question. I have a buddy who's building a 66 Vista Cruiser with a 496 engine & a 4L80E trans. He wants to use EFI and was needing thoughts on the throttle body versus the multiport system. I have no experience with EFI but I have another buddy who does. He says the multiport is a better choice. This is a street car not a racecar. Also, if the multiport is indeed a better choice do they make Edelbrock intakes for the injector provisions already installed. Thanks for any and all help.
Old May 10th, 2024, 02:57 PM
Gary

The throttle-body FI systems are really injection carburetors. So, some carburetor quirks remain. Those would include poor fuel distribution (caused by the intake manifold) and slight hesitation on acceleration (because the enrichment squirt takes a bit of time to reach the cylinder).

The poor fuel distribution costs a bit of power, but the throttle body fuel stays in the airstream longer before it reaches the cylinder. That allows more evaporation, which cools the charge, lowers pressure drop, and increases power overall.

The multiport injection gives better fuel distribution--therefore better fuel economy, smoother running, and faster starting. The fuel addition point is so close to the cylinder that it gives faster response to throttle position without requiring such a big shot for acceleration. But power is usually down a bit from an injection carburetor setup.

I don't know of any Oldsmobile intakes that are currently set up for injectors. Proforms were in the past, so it might be possible to find a used one.

I sent my Edelbrock intake and 8 injectors to Wilson Manifolds to have bungs welded in. They did a superb job.

Last edited by VC455; May 10th, 2024 at 03:11 PM. Reason: added pictures
Old May 10th, 2024, 04:09 PM

Originally Posted by VC455