Advice. I did a bad paint job!

Search this Thread

Old July 22nd, 2018, 02:08 PM

Advice. I did a bad paint job!

Painted my car on a 70 Deg, rainy day, I know stupid me, I used basecoat clear coat from Napa. painters know better then to paint a car on a rainy day ( I got in a hurry) , and I'm not a professional by any means. Well the paint is cloudy and blotchy. I know I need to repaint the car ( there's no saving it ) , can I just sand down the clear with 400 grit and repaint it? If I sand through the clear, will that hurt the repaint, or is that not a problem? And how long do I have to wait to sand car down now? Thanks for your help in advance, I know you painters will help me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
100_5614.jpg (357.7 KB, 230 views)
100_5617.jpg (383.3 KB, 216 views)
100_5621.jpg (315.9 KB, 206 views)
100_5615.jpg (366.6 KB, 215 views)
Old July 22nd, 2018, 03:47 PM
72 Olds CS

tell ya what I'll show you my cars paint and then you'll feel a lot better about yours!

I see what you mean in the paint but I don't have any advice for you!
Old July 23rd, 2018, 06:14 PM

Well it looks blue to me and that would be close enough if I painted it but I'm not a painter. But really you do not want to sand through the clear coat or much work will have to happen to straighten it out and moisture in the finish is never good down the road.... Tedd
Old July 25th, 2018, 05:55 AM

i would let it set a week or 2 and then wet sand it,and buff it.what do you have to lose!evidently the base flashed off before you put down the clear if it hadn't it would have bubbled.but i will say i experienced this on the very first thing i painted back in about 82 or so well before base clear.it was a 66 chevelle hood i used a black lacquer and it turned cloudy almost to the point of being dark gray.took a buffer to it and it came right out,other then the dust in it it looked awesome.
Old July 25th, 2018, 09:28 AM
Cory