Upgrading to dual exhaust - total newb

Search this Thread

Old June 19th, 2014, 08:09 PM

Upgrading to dual exhaust - total newb

Hey folks,
I bought a Dynomax exhaust system (the price was right) but I've never upgraded a single exhaust. I'd like to get to it this weekend and was hoping for some tips, tricks, pitfalls to watch for, etc.
I installed Hedman shorty headers and they came with [down cones?] but I'll need pipe from the cones to the system.
I'll be using clamps instead of welding. Will I need to do any drilling for hangers and such? I have a good floor jack and two jack stands, is that do-able? Not really sure where to start.

Here's the system:

http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/p/d...023/20201129-P

Thanks
Old June 19th, 2014, 11:37 PM

Start by getting two additional two or three-ton rated jack stands. Your car needs to be up as high on both ends as you can safely get it. You want to mock up the exhaust without clamping or drilling first to see where the problem areas are. When you are satisfied things will go into place stop there. You apparently need to have some exhaust from headers to what you bought custom built. Use some flex exhaust pipe and bend it to fit on ea. side. Take that to muffler shop to have solid pipe formed. Also take a short piece of what you bought with you plus one of the headers to the shop plus so they can tell what size it is and how much to bump up or down so you can get a sliding fit.

Yes you will most likely have to do some drilling and have a supply of self tapping bolts for frame side along with a sturdy drill. It looks like you have hangers. So reassemble the exhaust system, drill and fasten the hangers using rubber mounts they hopefully furnished, to cushion against rattles. The last thing to do is clamp the pieces of pipe. When you do, clamp them once, then loosen and turn 90 deg. and tighten again. Be sure to use lock washers everywhere as exhausts vibrate like crazy and fasteners will loosen if you don't.
Jerry