Non-Olds body dent/rust question

Search this Thread

Old August 19th, 2012, 07:29 PM
1974 DELTA 88

Question Non-Olds body dent/rust question

Well, I love cars, I love working on them, and I love driving them... but the one thing I have very little experience with is body work.

This is my wife's Hyundai. This dent was caused by a concrete curb around a culvert opening. Anyway, what I figured I need to do is sand all the rusted area down to bare metal and then fill/paint. Is there anything else I should do? I was thinking maybe apply a product prior to filling and painting that would make sure the rust is completely gone? Not sure what products are out there, but I know a lot of you are experienced in body work and even do it professionally.

She is mainly bothered by the surface rust, and as you can see the area is not visible unless you look under the car. Thanks for any advice you can offer.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
dent1.JPG (114.9 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg
dent2.JPG (137.2 KB, 60 views)
Old August 20th, 2012, 05:11 AM

I don't know alot about bodywork either but I think you have the right idea. After sanding the area use rust dissolving gel. Then after cleaning it thoroughly you can apply some heavy rust encapsulating paint like Rust-O-Leum. Once that dries then you can fill it and use touch-up paint. At least, that is what I would do.
Old August 20th, 2012, 08:39 PM
1974 DELTA 88

Sounds good to me!

Something like this? http://www.permatex.com/products/aut...solver_Gel.htm

I have never used such a product, but I figure I can't go too wrong with Permatex, and it's only $5 at O'Reilly.

Thanks for the reply.
Old August 20th, 2012, 09:04 PM
1974 DELTA 88

Any opinions on these?

http://www.rustoleumautomotive.com/p...ng-primer.aspx

http://www.rustoleumautomotive.com/p...al-primer.aspx

http://www.rustoleumautomotive.com/p...er-sealer.aspx
Old August 20th, 2012, 09:18 PM
Just an Olds Guy