Dremel brush that won't fall apart?

Search this Thread

Old May 3rd, 2014, 09:31 PM

Question Dremel brush that won't fall apart?

I've been using my Dremel for those hard to reach places for my engine bay resto but the bits (steel wire wheel, brass wire wheel, scotchbright-like buffers) don't last but a minute. Anyone know of a bit that will last for a reasonable amount of time/work?
Old May 3rd, 2014, 11:15 PM

Originally Posted by Macadoo
I've been using my Dremel for those hard to reach places for my engine bay resto but the bits (steel wire wheel, brass wire wheel, scotchbright-like buffers) don't last but a minute. Anyone know of a bit that will last for a reasonable amount of time/work?

I have the same question. Hope someone knows an alternative on this.
Old May 3rd, 2014, 11:34 PM

I think they have a maximum rpm. Are you exceeding the max?
Old May 4th, 2014, 04:16 AM

Dremel bits

Guys:
I've been using a Dremel for many years in another hobby I am part of, the bits and attachments are designed for light duty hobby type work. They work fine in the RPM range of a Dremel, you might try one w/ a variable speed switch. I contacted the Dremel guys several years ago about this same issue and was told the tool bits were not designed for restoration and heavy duty cleaning / degreasing work, only for hobby work. I go thru numerous packs of the cutoff wheels on any given car, the Dremel is a good tool if you use it and accept it for
what it is.
Thanks Ron
Old May 4th, 2014, 05:56 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by RonFX
... the Dremel is a good tool if you use it and accept it for what it is.
My expensive, variable speed, battery powered one had a failure of the expensive battery after only a few months, then had a failure of the speed control (only runs on High now), and now the bearings are going (growls and rattles), and I've barely used it over the several years that I've had it.

I accept that it's a piece of Chinese crap.

- Eric