Anyone try to fit Vintage Air Gen IV exact fit kit into a 67 Cutlass?

Search this Thread

Old May 17th, 2013, 05:05 PM

Anyone try to fit Vintage Air Gen IV exact fit kit into a 67 Cutlass?

Vintage Air does not offer a Gen IV kit for the 66-67 Cutlass. They do have them for
Chevelle and GTO/Lemans. If the firewalls are truly the same, I would expect the evaporator box would bolt under the dash just fine. Refrigerant hoses and so forth should also route out the same. That leaves the controls, ducting and compressor mount. I expect the 68 350 Cutlass compressor brackets they offer would bolt onto the 330 no problem. Same with the condenser. Ducting is just hoses, and I'm an electrical engineer, so no worries about the controls.

I found a dealer willing to work with me on ordering and experimenting with misc parts and so forth. Anyone out there think this might work, or do you think I'm crazy. I want to save the original controls and general fit, so a universal kit doesn't appeal to me. Appreciate all comments.

Tim
Old May 17th, 2013, 08:43 PM

Give them a call, good bunch of folks and can probably help you out. The GenIV uses electonic controls so not easy to modify to original controls. Was yours an original AC car? Their '69-'72 kits mount the compressor on the passenger side like factory but non-ac cars have it on the drivers side and harder to hide the hoses.
Old May 17th, 2013, 09:21 PM

I checked with Vintage directly first, I'm only 60 miles from them. They said use a generic kit, even though they said it nicely. Mine is a factory air car, so also a passenger side compressor. The Gen IV controls appear adaptable to the Olds control panel, as it is very similar to the Chevelle. The most difficult thing I see looks to be the center dash vent adapter needs to be fabbed. I fabricate mechanical stuff and design electronics in my day job, so maybe I'm not as afraid of this as I should be. It would suck to trash a $1300 kit and have the car in pieces.

Tim