Non-Olds Engines For discussion on non-Oldsmobile engines. All forum rules apply.

Chevy Sport Van not starting

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2012, 08:58 AM
Always room for one more

Chevy Sport Van not starting

Hey everyone.

90 Beauville 350. About a month ago it quit on me and I had it hooked back to my house. Found something in the pickup ring in the distributor had rusted and disintegrated. After a new distributor it ran like a champ.

Yesterday. Got about 3 miles from the house, it quit again. Just dies without warning and the lights come on. Cranks fine, fuel pump cycles, no fire. But unlike before, it started after sitting a couple minutes. Got home, messed with it all afternoon ran fine. This morning, no start. Did the screw driver in the spark plug boot test, no spark.

Any ideas? Has something fried my new distributor? Is the external coil module given it up? It's got plenty of gas. I'm not good with electrical stuff, is there something else in the system that I'm not thinking of?

Thanks much
Old May 6th, 2012, 09:10 AM
"Car"mudgeon

Take the ignition control module to the auto parts store (Advance or auto zone) and they can check it out for you.
Old May 6th, 2012, 10:19 AM
NôôB

And fuses... Always check fuses first LOL.
Old May 6th, 2012, 11:00 AM

I would check the coil and the ignition module. Tbi ignitions do some weird things. That is assuming it is Tbi

Last edited by supertrucker1978; May 6th, 2012 at 11:04 AM.
Old May 6th, 2012, 01:12 PM
Always room for one more

Thanks guys.