The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

New Olds Owner

Search this Thread

Old November 8th, 2017, 01:05 PM

New Olds Owner

Hey everyone,

I am a Maryland guy and the 'newish' owner of a '55 Holiday 4 door. I found it on ebay last fall and to date it has been the coolest thing I've ever bought! It has about 65k original miles, and the car spent most of its life sitting in an enclosed barn in PA. I actually have met the grandson of the original owner, which was an elderly lady from Reading. He told me how he went for a ride in it after his grandmother drove it home from the dealer in the fall of '55 and picked him up from elementary school.

When I first saw it listed, I was very skeptical that it was an original, unrestored survivor with no rust. My background is in paint and bodywork, and sure enough it is as solid as it was when new, minus some surface pitting around the base of the rear window which I understand is common. With the nice weather we have had I've been driving it a lot locally. So far, all I have done is replace the gas tank and sending unit due to corrosion, sandblast and paint the wheels with a set of new American Classic whitewalls, and gave it a good tune up.

The car is originally Frost Blue and Panama Blue, and the Frost Blue top coat is original with the worn lacquer look to it. It almost looks white until up close due to its age, but looks really cool IMO. The Panama Blue was resprayed back in the 70's I'm told, and was done in a lighter metallic blue than the correct Panama Blue. The current scheme is nice though; though only half technically correct. I sprayed the wheels to match the original Panama Blue wheel color (had to be custom mixed, I couldn't get a code to transfer to my paint system), just in case I ever do repaint it and want to match the original colors.