The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Quick intro....

Search this Thread

Old February 12th, 2010, 01:43 AM
t42

Quick intro....

Hello everyone.....Im Dan from Tennessee....well Im not from Tennessee, I just live here now. Im about 50 miles east of Mempit. Ive been building hot rods for many years as a hobby. This is my first venture into the Oldsmobile area. Usually I put a small block chevy in ALL my rods but I want to stay Olds on this one. I just got (about a month ago) a 1960 Olds 88 2dr hardtop. Its in pretty good condition. I had to pick it up in Mich. but it was originally a California car so there is very little rust. Its got a 394 out of a 62 olds but has the original 371 heads and intake so the exhaust could be routed. Havent been able to get the engine running yet (to damn cold to work on it outside) but I am thinking about replacing it with a 455 anyway. Dont have any idea how difficult this swap will be...still doing my research. But I have found at least 2 complete engine and transmissions for a very cheap price. Here's a couple pics of my project....

Unloading her...

59 Caddy tail lights frenched in...
60olds007-1.jpg

60olds014.jpg
Old February 12th, 2010, 02:38 AM
Registered

Welcome

Hey t42, Cool car!

The person taking the pic didn't want want to help push?

The car looks like an AMT 3 in 1 plastic model custom option.

You are going to keep the those ultra-cool wheels, wide whitewall tires and tail lights I hope?
Was that was done in the early to mid 60's originally or is it a modern deal?
I know the roof isn't chopped but it sure looks like it the way it's designed and how the car is sitting low with no side trim.
Old February 12th, 2010, 04:28 AM

Hi welcome to the site.
Old February 12th, 2010, 04:31 AM
GM Enthusiast

Welcome and very nice ride. I'm sure someone here will chime in about replacing your motor with a 455.