The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

newbie post #1 - 62 0lds cutlass

Search this Thread

Old May 26th, 2019, 03:42 PM

newbie post #1 - 62 0lds cutlass

I live in the greater Atlanta area. A friend recently gave me a 1962 Oldsmobile convertible. All i had to do was drive 10 hours to pick it up. this thing is farm fresh. completely unmolested and original. it had been parked a little over 40 years ago in an airplane hanger in indiana. the floor boards are a little thin, it has some rust through on the rear quarters. but it is complete. i have never done a restoration before but i have worked on just about every aspect of a car that there is. however, this car has me back on my heels. it seems like it is virtually impossible to find parts for this car. and when you do find them.... they may be made out of gold given the prices i am finding.

the car is running now, but not stopping...... that is the next phase of the project. i am hoping to get some good advise from the forum. and maybe find some folks that have some parts to turn loose of.
Old June 24th, 2019, 03:36 PM
btw
Smokin' BBQ Member

There is support out there for parts - this is a good site to start asking questions and make your list known of needed parts and how to's. I am quite sure someone can help out.
Old June 24th, 2019, 05:34 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, you have a lot of good info on your other thread.
Old June 24th, 2019, 06:23 PM
Phantom Phixer

Most common mechanical parts are available at Rock Auto ,com https://www.rockauto.com/
The best Oldsmobile parts supplier is Fusick Automotive http://www.fusickautomotiveproducts.com/
There are a couple of members here who have parted out a number of early sixties Oldsmobiles their screen names are deaddds (near Chicago )
and j hoppe olds (near Milwaukee ) , very good service from both .