The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Newbie here considering a '56 Super 88

Search this Thread

Old January 13th, 2014, 09:51 AM

Newbie here considering a '56 Super 88

Hello all!

I am considering the purchase of a four door 1956 Super 88 sedan that has some rust damage to the passenger side floor board. It also has some minor rust spots on both passenger side doors near the bottom of the car. Surface rust is present on the front bumper and in very small amounts on the hood. The vehicle has been fitted with an aftermarket AC and stereo, but has power steering and brakes (presumably from the factory). There is a minor crack in the front passenger windshield, along with some minor, easily addressed mechanical issues.

If you folks would be so kind, could you suggest a maximum offer that I should submit for a car with these issues?
Old January 13th, 2014, 10:00 AM
Administrator

Welcome, pictures would help a lot with a better description of the mechanical issues.
Old January 13th, 2014, 10:15 AM

Thanks for the reply! There is a slow oil leak near the rear of the car that would supposedly require a "felt" seal that these cars used as opposed to a rubber seal (according to the current owner). There is a fuel line that needs to be rerouted, and the carburetor could use some work (but currently functions).

Here are photos of the rust:

X8gx15K.jpg

kdVmgvu.jpg

9UCVUgo.jpg

IA7mvKy.jpg
Old January 13th, 2014, 10:18 AM

Oh...also...the wipers don't work, but he has a new wiper motor that he is willing to throw in if I purchase the car.
Old January 13th, 2014, 10:25 AM
Administrator

Do you have some pictures of the whole car inside and out? The rust under the paint may or may not be severe, looks like it had been repaired previously in spots.
Old January 13th, 2014, 10:34 AM

Here's the whole car

XTvm9TI.jpg

HTMCTxP.jpg

bqo41cH.jpg
Old January 13th, 2014, 11:07 AM