The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Search this Thread

Old October 14th, 2010, 01:25 PM

I am new to this not only on the Olsdmobile site but posting on forums ingeneral. I have a 71 Olds Delta 88 Royal 2 door convertable 350 2bbl, that my inlaws gave me and it needs work. I was curious if anyone has some guidelines as to where I should start.
Also, I have the opportunity to buy teh following engine and wanted to know if it will fit in this car. Any advice is greatly appre3ciated.
BR Vitaleyes
350 Chevy V8
Complete rebuild with about 5250 miles, 1994 Corvette LT1 Police engine
10.5 / 1 compression, Aluminum heads, 4 bolt mains, Reverse flow cooling system (From radiator to headers and exhaust), Bored 0.030 over with a 0.010-0.010 reground crank shaft
Engine components balanced by Speed Specialties of San Diego
Heavy duty oil pump
Crower cam (smog legal) with roller tappets
All new valve guides
Matched intake ports and exhaust headers
Oil Cooler
Accel ball style fuel injectors
Computer controlled engine and transmission operation
The cooling system has a heavy duty radiator with dual fans and a recovery tank
The transmission is an electronically controlled automatic 700R4
Old October 14th, 2010, 02:45 PM

Welcome to the site. You have a cool car.

But you should know one thing. You're talking about putting a Chevy engine in an Oldsmobile. Talk like that on this OLDSMOBILE forum will get you keel-hauled!

Don't even consider doing it. Your car is a boulevard cruiser. I know what they're like as I once had a '75 Delta 88 convertible. It's not meant to turn the quarter mile in 6 seconds. It's meant to float down the road at a steady speed and absorb all the bumps. If you want something with more pep, get a Cutlass and put an Olds 455 in it. Or put a 455 in this car. But keep it Olds!

P.S. We love pictures, too! Post some when you can.
Old October 15th, 2010, 04:57 AM