The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

New guy from MN

Search this Thread

Old February 13th, 2016, 07:12 AM

New guy from MN

So....I'm a long-time member on the Team Chevelle site and have a couple of 68 Malibus. I own a classic auto upholstery shop specializing in 50's-60's GM muscle cars. Reason I joined here is I'm restoring the interior of a customer's '64 Dynamic 88 2 door hardtop and need to find a few interior parts and decode the cowl tag, which has a body code of 64-3447. I understand the 64 which is 1964, but need to know what the 3447 is. That info is needed for ordering body rubber such as roof rail and other parts. I also understand the rest of the cowl tag info, since I've been doing mainly Chevys for the last 40 years. Also wondering which other body styles have interchangeable parts with the 3447. Thanks in advance!
Old February 15th, 2016, 06:01 AM

68 views to my question as of this morning and no one knows what a 3447 body code is?
Old February 15th, 2016, 06:09 AM
Old(s) Fart

Welcome. Unfortunately, there's no additional information there that you don't already know. 34 = Dynamic 88 model line. 47 = Holiday (hardtop) Coupe. Body panels interchange with other 64 2dr coupes from the D88 line except that the Jetstar I (not to be confused with the Jetstar 88) and the Starfire used a different roofline. 1963 cars share some sheetmetal like doors and floorpans, but the front and rear ends are different.
Old February 15th, 2016, 08:05 AM
Oldsdruid

Dynamic 88, Jetstar 88 and Jetstar I share seat cloth and vinyl as well as the mylar-trimmed interior door and rear trim panels. No repops I'm aware of though SMS can furnish cloth and make the side panels at great expense.