The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

need serious help

Search this Thread

Old March 20th, 2016, 07:11 AM

need serious help

I have completed a rebuild on an olds 350. I primed the motor and can not get oil to the heads. I read through a service manual and found the rear oil galley plug is behind the freeze plug in the rear of the block near the cam shaft. I assume this is why I have no oil pressure. But I have no experience removing the freeze plug I installed and could that oil galley be put in without removing the motor?
Old March 20th, 2016, 08:07 AM

Are you spinning the oil pump the correct direction?
This ain't no Chevy engine.

look in thru the dist'r hole with inspection mirror to see the plug or lack thereof.

Of course you would also be able to see either a spurt or gush of oil out of that oil passage while priming. Or no flow it the usual no-hole plug was installed by the usual type assembler, because "new" has got to better than "the old one."
Old March 20th, 2016, 08:24 AM

Yes counter clockwise. I've been going by the book and I def don't have the oil pressure I should. And after reading I notice that mondello sells a oil gally plug that goes behind the 29/32 freeze plug and I know for a fact I never put that in. Is there a way to install that with the motor/tranny still attached? Or just pull the granny
Old March 20th, 2016, 08:54 AM

"pull the granny"

heh

better yank gramps out too.

:-)

Well, first you need the plug with the spurt hole, got that?

There is a tale here of a guy who removed the hole-free plug and installed the correct one thru the dist hole by means of a ratcheting box end wrench and a modified stubby hex key piece. Search for that perhaps or improvise based on that info?

I would start with a rag and/or magnet under the hole so that anything that drops can't go far.

here is the story