The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Just bought 1988 Cutlass Gt

Search this Thread

Old November 9th, 2012, 05:19 PM

Just bought 1988 Cutlass Gt

Im a newbie here guys nice to be involved. In 1995 I purchased my 1st car which was a 1983 Cutlass Calais ,same as the Cutlass Supreme. It was white with the white vinyl top, it had the v6 engine maroon int, power everything and a floor shift. I love the design of these years of the Cutlass. I had 4 cutlass' in my early drving years and modified all to fit my likes at the time. I got married had kids and lost funds to have a Cutlass in my garage. Recently I managed to save some extra $$ and began my search. I prefer the maroon int with the floor shift, not easy to find...I was trying to find an interior i could salvage. Then I decided to look for a 442 since it would make finding the maroon int and floor shift easier to find...while upgrading in the process. Ive had Cutlass' since I could drive and followed and drooled at every car show since then but never knew of the 88 Gt. I know its just basically a "looks" upgrade only, but lets face it if you love the 80's G body Cutlass'...you dont love them for their speed anyways. Its their prescence and outstanding lines that make it stand out. I live in Pennsylvania and located this car in North Carolina, the next day myself and my son left at midnight and drove 16 hours straight to get this beauty back home. Now she is in need of a good amount of work and is missing some key parts but I love the challenge in making this car come back to life. I will pass this car down to my son one day so we plan on doing alot of the work ourselves. It makes me smile seeing a 10 year old boy falling for the same beauty that stole my heart 17 years ago, hopefully he will know better then to let her get away.

Last edited by 1988CutlassGT; November 9th, 2012 at 06:57 PM.