The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Hi all

Search this Thread

Old October 18th, 2009, 07:13 PM

Hi all

Hi all, Im new to this fourm. My name is Gustav and Im 20 and live in Emporia Kansas. I only own and drive old oldsmobiles. I just got one done from the machine shop and put it together last week. In a minute Ill put some pics up you guys can see the motor and the big boat it goes in. Also I dont know if this area is ok to ask questions but Ill wait till I put the pic up for my question so I can explain better but heres the pics

Ok hope you guys like the pics. Now my question is about this last pic. I know what it is and all that my question is that mine broke and i know you cant get these anymore. So i just bought a 3 port one. Do i just hook up the vacuum lines like they were before but this time it wont have the soilnoid and vacuum line on top. The wire to the soilnoid goes to the transmission can i just be ok to not plug it into nothing? and also the vacuum that went to the top of this soilnoid can I just plug it off. Thanks for all info on this. Btw this question is refering to the car and pics above, its got the 2BBL carb

Last edited by Gustav455; October 18th, 2009 at 11:46 PM.
Old October 18th, 2009, 08:40 PM

Welcome to the site! Yes it looks like you qualify for the Land Yacht club! It looks like a fun project, but I'm going to have to let someone else who knows answer your question on the vacuum switch. John
Old October 18th, 2009, 09:19 PM
67 heavy metal

welcome to the site looks like you have a nice project going
Old October 19th, 2009, 05:08 AM
Oldsdruid

I'll be honest with you. Unless you're going for a 1000-point restoration, sell that NOS TCS vacuum switch to a W30 owner and use a regular switch without all the transmission controls. That or leave it out completely, put a pipe plug in the well and run full-time ported vacuum to the distributor.