The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

HELP!!! im a noobie!

Search this Thread

Old September 6th, 2010, 05:44 PM

HELP!!! im a noobie!

Im only 16 and i got a beatup 1973 olds omega. Its going to be my first car and i want to fix it up. My first thing that im going to start with it changing it to disk brakes. Does anybody have any idea what car would have the brakes i need for an omega?
Old September 6th, 2010, 06:16 PM

Welcome to the site! Even though it's beat up we'd still like to see pictures of your car

I'm not an expert and someone else will have to chime in. I believe the Omega from 1973 through maybe 75ish were the same, as would be the Nova and Ventura of that vintage. It seems like Buick should have offered something on that platform but I'm drawing a blank on that.

Now, where my knowledge really gets iffy is previous years. Somewhere I'd read that the early Omega's could be used on the 1964-72 A-bodies like the Cutlass. If thats true, and someone will need to confirm that, then you could look for 1968-72 Cutlass, Chevelle, Skylark, LeMans, etc. for brakes. You can also find much of this new for similar costs to buying used and rebuilding it all. If you do get used parts be sure and get the small items like the small "L" shaped bracket bolted to the frame that the rubber hose attaches through. I know on the Cutlass that bracket is different between the disc and drum brakes.

That's my thoughts, but lets see what else others will share. I know Joe Pavadano has made a couple really good posts on brakes and interchanges. If you have time you might try the search option and see if his discussion helps with the Omega. John
Old September 6th, 2010, 06:34 PM