The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

First post , need an expert on the 200 4r conversion

Search this Thread

Old June 29th, 2014, 10:35 PM

First post , need an expert on the 200 4r conversion

Hey Guys
Been using this site to find much needed info for my 71 Olds Cutlass S.
I've been enjoying my Olds for 26 years. I restored the car in 1988 after I purchased from my Grandfather for $1000. Two years ago I started making some changes to the car as it was getting tired. lol

Lately I have rebuilt the 350 adding a performance cam and a 600 Holley and a performer intake. I got some headers from Mondello in California.
Changed the control arms to the tubular ones and new Eaton springs with Bilstien shocks and a 12.7 :1 gearbox, polyurethane bushings from Summit and a new sway bar in the rear, Disk brake conversion up front(car handles way better even with the 14 in SS11 Rims!)
installed 3.73 posi in rear also.

Now to the Transmission, I found a 2004r core that I took to a Transmission shop and had it rebuilt. It bolted right in with no issues. Had the Transmission Guy set up the tv cable to the throttle ( had to buy a adjustable bracket from a local performance shop to hook it up to the carb as the original cable that ran from my 350 turbo went to the gas pedal) also put in a vacuum switch that he wired to 4th gear for the lock up. Also put in a new torque converter that they use on the Grand National
Transmission seemed to shift too soon 3000 rpm at wot, even when you were putting your foot to it also it wouldn't kick down.
So I started reading about the kit from CK Performance CUSTOM STREET/STRIP VALVE BODY, GOVERNOR AND SERVO PACKAGE #24RVB/SSK