The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

A few thoughts from a newbie

Search this Thread

Old April 18th, 2021, 09:18 AM

Cool A few thoughts from a newbie

I guess first,a Hello to all is in order.This is my first time on any olds forum,even though I have had my 72 442 W30 conv X car for 33 yrs.Sadly,the W30 engine was nowhere to be found!I have only been to a few muscle car events (5) over the years,life dealt me a 2 decade long illness since 2000.It was a literal nightmare to trouble shoot,drs were/are useless.Unbelievably, it was malnutrition/malabsorption caused by antibiotic damage to my dig tract.I am the ultimate do it yourselfer,and figured it out.When I hit the right combinations,I literally put on 32 lbs in 2 months!That was 3 months before the pandemic,today my health is awesome and is still improving.I still drove my olds every summer,except for the one year when my idiot twin blew a freshly rebuilt 69 455 L30 by stupid over revving during breaking in,in 2006.That would have been a terrific addition to my x car.Today I have a somewhat crappy '74 455 smog engine with J heads.I have found my love of olds again,but long term illness forces you live on very limited funds.So,basically there were just 2 wishes that I still have held for all these lost years. Since I still only have the c heads from the 69,and want to find a used alum intake so I can add a little extra performance for this summer,or next at the latest.I also would like to paint it again, since it has been 33 years.Getting a better compression block will have to come after the paint has been payed for.You would not believe how close I came to selling my ride for a song to more than one so called friends,when I was virtually broke.I thankfully did not do it.I am once again,just as excited as I was when I was 16 (in

1980),and dreaming about all the possibilities!
Old April 18th, 2021, 10:00 AM