The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Another Cdn Newbie

Search this Thread

Old October 14th, 2010, 10:52 AM

Another Cdn Newbie

Hello all,

I am a newbie to the Cutlass world - but my Father in law left me his 72 Cutlass (2 Dr Coupe) - he always said Supreme - but I am not convinced of that. He was in the process of restoring (and most of it is done although I may re-do some of it b/c I think it looks like it needs it).

In any event I am also very new to the car restoration process - but I want to finish the project and My wife is very excited about it.

So newbie question #1

it has a 2bbl carb on it and I would like to swap it out to put in a 4bbl. I want this thing to sound mean and have lots of pickup and go once all done. He would have wanted it that way and had talked about the carb swap. I am looking at a Holly 600 dbl pumper - it is a 4 bbl carb. Is it too much for the 350 rocket that is in there? I also will have to swap out the intake and so I want to know if the factory intake for the 4bbl would be sufficient or if I need to go with a higher performance on, e.g., eldebrock HP intake??

Newbie Q#2

It currently has an automatic (off the steering column) but I would like to either put in an automatic on the floor (hurst like shifter) or even moreso a standard tranny.

Is there any benefit to either and how much work is it to do?

Thanks in advance, for all the help!

Lou
Old October 14th, 2010, 12:59 PM
Cutlass Lover

Welcome to our site! I love the 72 Cutlass Supreme, as you can tell, lol!! We like pics if you have any to post! My guys here are the best and will be glad to answer your questions and help ya out!
Old October 14th, 2010, 02:50 PM

Originally Posted by lvelocci
he always said Supreme - but I am not convinced of that.
What the vehicle's VIN? The second character will tell you. It should be a B, F, G, or J.