The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Aftermarket Rally Pac Gauges

Search this Thread

Old May 7th, 2012, 11:20 AM

Aftermarket Rally Pac Gauges

Hello everyone;

I'm new to this so bare with me. Just bought a 69 Hurst itis the secound one that I've owned. The first one was when I was 18 I think I am trying to relive my youth. Any way I'm putting in a se of after market rally pac gauges. I read all the postings about installaion but nobody addressed if the Gen & Hot light still come on yet when you turn on the ignition is this right?

Guy
Old May 7th, 2012, 03:17 PM
Randy C.

Are these gauges the kind that mount under your dash or in the place of the gauges/idiot lights in your dash?

If these gauges are mounted independently of your dash gauges, the GEN and HOT lamps in the gauge pod in your dash will still come on upon start, and then extinguish.

If you've replaced the idiot lights with in-dash gauges, there shouldn't be a HOT light.

Randy C.
Old May 7th, 2012, 04:25 PM

Rally pac gauges

Thank you for responding. They are the in dash gauges. What I thought was a problem is that you must cut the green wire on the starter switch on the steering column to keep the gauge for burning out from too much voltage. My question was (I did not explain it vou so very well) After you cut the wire and you turn the key on should you still get a hot and gen lightin the gauge. I was just told it does not matter as long as the gauges do not peg out. Like I said, I'm new at this. Thank you very much. Its good to be back in the Oldsmobile circles

Guy
Old May 7th, 2012, 09:38 PM
Randy C.

Just for reference, my rallye gauge pod does not have a "HOT" light. The lights on my rallye gauge pod are "GEN" (lower left) and "BRAKE" (lower right).