The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

65' 442 - cant open trunk.

Search this Thread

Old February 12th, 2012, 02:06 PM

65' 442 - cant open trunk.

Complete noob here! first post as a matter of fact. Great site, lots of insight and help So thank you in advance for any help/ideas.
On to my question. I got my first 442 off the truck Friday after having it shipped down from MA. There are three keys on the ring - one for the ignition one for doors and one that opens the glove box. Previous owner says this is all the keys he had but none of them will even attempt to turn the lock on the trunk.
Should ther be a 4th key if all is still original?
Regardless any recommendations on how to get in to if if I can't get a key?
Thanks again,
Todd
Old February 12th, 2012, 02:11 PM

Welcome to the site Todd! It sounds like someone has changed the locks on your car. It shouldn't take four keys to open four different locks. Last year I purchased a 1964 Cutlass that had the key broken off inside the trunk lock. I removed the back seat and crawled through there until I could use a ratched with several extensions to remove the bolts (three I think) that hold the female portion of the latch. Please share pictures with us when you can.
John
Old February 12th, 2012, 07:46 PM

Thank you for te input...

Getting to the latch through the back seat may be a bit tricky as the previous owner put extra parts in the trunk, but I think I may be able to get to it.
If not I will try a locksmith.
I tried to post a few pics but evidently I can't do that on my IPAD. I'll try that again tomorrow.
I know the engine has been replaced with a 455 from I think 1967ish. Everything else I think is original.
Old February 13th, 2012, 09:36 AM

Finally got the photos up loaded. Let me know what you think?
I can oly load 5 at a time so I will post more in my next one.

Regards,

T
Attached Images
File Type: jpg