The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

1972 Chrome Hood Grilles

Search this Thread

Old September 27th, 2010, 09:16 AM

1972 Chrome Hood Grilles

Hi Classic Olds people

I'm very new to this project, I just recently got myself into a major restoration. A Model S 1972 Cutlass. Question are the grilles on the hood left chrome or are they completely painted black with just highlights of the edge. Or should they be the color of the car? Curious
Thanks Jan

More questions to come !!!
Old September 27th, 2010, 04:53 PM

On my original hood (I still have) they are all chrome, but pitted badly. If they had paint accents, I no longer can see any. Probably not much help.
Old September 27th, 2010, 06:22 PM

Hood Louvers

In my 1972 sales brochure, the louvers are painted body color. Also, my last Cutlass was a one owner car with original paint and although faded pretty bad, they were also painted body color. Whenever I've refinished them, I've always done them in semi-gloss black and left the top ridges chrome... it's a pain to tape off but there are ways around that too. Guess it depends on what you want and like.
Old September 27th, 2010, 06:52 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by ziff396
On my original hood (I still have) they are all chrome, but pitted badly. If they had paint accents, I no longer can see any. Probably not much help.
That happens with weathering. Both the 71 and 72 model years that sported these "faux" louvers on the Cutlass S were color coded to match the body color. The silver reveal along the top of the louver and the inside edge was the only part that was left chrome. If the paint is missing, it may give the impression they were all chrome, but they weren't.

Originally Posted by scott_442