Couple of general questions?

Search this Thread

Old April 9th, 2012, 03:31 PM

Question Couple of general questions?

It is not a major build yet but it will be when she is done... so if this needs to be in another forum let me know.
That said a few quick questions:
1 - can any of you tell me if the interior of the '65 442 was supposed to be painted an orangish color and if the black tar type stuff is factory or something a previous owner did?
2 - Extra parts I found in the trunk. Anything worth a closer photo?
3 -Can anyone tell by the number on the lock cylinder if this is an original lock to a "65 cutlass?
4 - Best for last. A good view of a faked "E" block. Being a total newbie I posted a month or so ago about the number and the "E" not matching. A poster on her told me to get a tooth brush and clean it really good, that I would find that the "E" was probably an "F" and had been altered.
Sure enough - you can see it plain as day in the photo. I lightened it and pointed to the discoloration of the new portion. It wasn't a represented to me as an "E" and I knew it was not a numbers matching motor so I am fine with it... I'll bet someone before me was fit to be tied though.

Thanks for all your help. This site is fantastic...

Todd
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
DSC_6127.jpg (283.8 KB, 59 views)
DSC_6145.jpg (299.4 KB, 51 views)
DSC_6146.jpg (307.7 KB, 44 views)
DSC_6163.jpg (268.3 KB, 47 views)
F to E fake.jpg (215.5 KB, 57 views)
Old April 9th, 2012, 06:28 PM