1975 98 Sedan - Resurrection and Tire Frying Machine

Search this Thread

Old September 1st, 2022, 06:54 AM
1975 98 Regency Sedan

1975 98 Sedan - Resurrection and Tire Frying Machine

Hello, if you haven't seen my introduction thread, check it out here: My Post in the Newbie Subforum

I'm a late model GM guy, specifically anything LS powered. I have had all kinds of LS powered cars over the last 15ish years and have been accumulating parts and knowledge over that time. I'm far from an expert, but wanted to do a swap in something old.

I was inspired by Vice Grip Garage (Youtuber who does revivals) last year to find a big body GM sedan. The oldest car I've ever owned to date was an '87 Cutlass with a 455 swap, so I was excited to find a mostly-solid '75 98 close to home, hiding in a barn for who knows how long. It was last inspected in 2009, no battery, rotted off exhaust, cracked header panel, missing some trim, cracked tail light/missing bezel, and tweaked rear bumper. Also all 4 tires were different and some were even bias ply lol. The top is rough and I can clearly see there are some spots on the roof that are rusted. With a battery, it started on old gas and idled rough. I did a quick peak of the underside, looking for holes in the floor or rotten sections of the frame. It all looked pretty good. Interior had some sun fade but overall not bad. It had that musty basement smell and some old mold, but the seller had a few large bags of desiccant inside to keep it dry. No water damage or anything.

The car had around 109k at the time of purchase. 455, th400 (I guess it's considered a th375 but whatever - maybe someone can chime in and fact check), "12 bolt" Olds rear with a 8.5" carrier and *I think* 2.56s, but dont quote me on the gear ratio as I did not verify. But explains why the engine barely breathes at 60mph.