1971 Delta Ninety Eight Warehouse find

Search this Thread

Old February 28th, 2019, 05:47 AM
1971 Delta Ninety Eight

1971 Delta Ninety Eight Warehouse find

New user here, so hello everyone. I've never owned an Oldsmobile before. And I've never owned a car this old. I've never even had a carbureted vehicle, aside from a motorcycle I built and an ATV. Oldest car iv owned was a 1988 Mercury grand Marquis and I loved it. I'm an experienced mechanic and familiar with restoration and most mechanical work. Just so you know a bit about me.

I've been drooling over this 71 ninety eight for about 3 years. Finnaly managed to hunt down the owner. Long story short, he put this car in the warehouse in 1989 and it never left. He used to go crank it up once a year but after a while that stopped. It hasn't been cranked up for about 10 years. Was sitting on 4 flats... Tired look great and even still have the nipples in between the tread... But with their age I doubt they're safe. So I own this now!

Again I've never had a vehicle thisbold. Never worked on carbureted car.. aslo never had an olds...
Planning to,

Drop and clean the tank
Drain fuel lines
Replace fuel filter
Drain and replace oil
​​​​​Drainand replace coolant
remove spark plugs
Add a bit of oil to each cylinder
Crank it over by hand
Fire it up?

Am I missing anything? Is there any knowledge that those of you with more experience with these cars would like to give me?
Anything I should know about the 71 ninety eight?
Anything interesting or cool to know?

Old February 28th, 2019, 08:32 AM

Nice, Palm Green. Change the 3 rubber lines going into the fuel tank.
Old February 28th, 2019, 08:40 AM