General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

General questions

Search this Thread

Old September 14th, 2018, 08:33 PM

General questions

Im kind of new to the Oldsmobile game so I have a few (probably dumb) questions. Let’s start by saying I have own an 84 Delta 88 Royale Brougham, With the rocket 307. Number 1. Once the high beams went, I can’t figure how to turn them off again. Number 2. How much work is it to change the cam gear. Number 3. Is there anything I should know before daily driving the car.
Old September 14th, 2018, 08:33 PM

Any help at all would be much appreciated
Old September 15th, 2018, 06:02 AM
Old(s) Fart

Welcome. I don't know what you mean by the high beams "went", but you turn them off and on by pulling on the turn signal lever. If that doesn't click and work, that switch is probably bad. You need to disassemble the steering column to replace it. The timing chain and cam gear replacement requires disassembly of the front of the motor, along with some specialized tools (harmonic balancer puller and installer and a flywheel holder). There are also some tricks to getting the front cover back in place with the oil pan on. How long has the car sit? If it's been any length of time, I'd suggest replacing all the rubber parts in the brake system (hoses and seals).
Old September 15th, 2018, 07:39 PM

Well when I bought the car I made sure the lights worked and I tryed the high beams and ever since they haven’t turned off. Other than actually turning the lights off themselves. It’s either high beams or off.
Old September 16th, 2018, 06:13 AM
Old(s) Fart

There are two possible causes of this. First is that the dimmer switch has gone bad. The second is that the rod that actuates the dimmer switch has popped out of place. That is unlikely, but it actually happened to me on a GM steering column. As I mentioned above, either of these requires disassembly of the steering column.