General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

OEM vs repro inner fender wells

Search this Thread

Old July 20th, 2018 | 05:25 PM

OEM vs repro inner fender wells

I am no expert by any means but I ask if there is a way to tell original red inner fender wells vs reproduction when installed or not?
Old July 20th, 2018 | 07:31 PM

Yes there is....one obvious difference is the very edge of the opening down around the A-Arm. The originals have a slight "square ridge" that runs along the very edge. Repros don't have this.

There are probably other differences (overall "look"/appearance) but the ridge/no ridge deal is relatively easy to spot if all you have to look at is pictures VS. in person.
Old July 21st, 2018 | 05:01 AM

Thanks Ill check it out. I assume original black ones should be identical to original red ones except for color?
Old July 21st, 2018 | 06:04 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by scrappie
Thanks Ill check it out. I assume original black ones should be identical to original red ones except for color?

Correct.

They make repro BLACK inner fenders? Why? Aren't there a boatload of real ones out there now that everyone has repro red inners on their Faux-Four-Twos? I mean, that would be like making repro metal 1970-72 hoods.
Old July 21st, 2018 | 10:18 AM

Is there a part# or date code embossed somewhere?
Old July 21st, 2018 | 01:42 PM

PN will be molded into the wells on the "inside/underside"....generally on the surface right over the top of the tire on the underside.

As far as date codes...

>Found a year ("70" situated inside a "clock" pattern of sorts)molded in (ie-raised numbers, not stamped in) on a black well on the front lip/underside - P side well

>DID NOT find a year code on a RED well at all - P side well

There were some changes to the molded in "bosses" on the D side wells over the years.

Will look again at the P side red well in case I missed the year "clock" number.