General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Advice on Restoring a 455

Search this Thread

Old July 14th, 2009, 05:27 PM

Smile Advice on Restoring a 455

I have several questions regarding restoration of my 442 W-30's 455. I gratefully welcome opinions/comments to following:

First, let me state I am primarily interested in maintaining the vehicle's value. In this regard I want to keep it stock as much as possible as this is what the true die hard collectors desire. Some of my questions may seem naive, but I am new to the game here....thanks!

-In rebuilding an engine there are some mandatory updates, such as hardened valves for unleaded, that almost must be made. It is my thought that doing this does not harm value. True?

-There are upgrades that can be made to pistons which while not visible I am not certain about since the result is improved performance. For example lighter pistons with lighter yet stronger ring and rods can be installed. THis would result in some HP improvements, but does this violate some unwritten "collector's code".

-THere are also other "hidden" improvements such as grinding down and smoothing out intake ports and exhause parts in both intake and exahuast manifolds. Provides some marginal, but noticeable HP improvements. Good idea or not?

-Custom ground cam. Not necessarily to make the cam "hotter", but to actually improve idle. So in other words it is basically a cam that is virtually stock, but custom ground specifically for the engine it is in.