General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Crashed my classic Olds, now what?

Search this Thread

Old July 8th, 2018, 09:01 PM

Crashed my classic Olds, now what?

I managed to get into an accident with my 1964 Cutlass/442 and I have no idea how the insurance process works. In 40+ years of having custom/classic cars I have never done this before. I have so called "Full Coverage" on the car through my State Farm agent. There is a partial lien on the car, I paid $25K for it and financed $15K. State Farm took pictures of the car when I added it to my policy. I made a point of telling my agent that I wanted to be able to drive this car a lot. Since I have another Olds insured as a "Historical" vehicle, which here in Michigan means you are only supposed to be driving it if you are on the way to or from an event. I wanted real daily driver insurance on the 442.

I will be calling the agent tomorrow to inform them of the accident. I know there has to be someone here on classicoldsmobile.com that has had to go through this. Personally, I think the car is very fixable. I messed up the front clip. I don't believe the frame is bent, it wasn't a sideways bash me around thing. I just mushed the front end straight in.

My friends think that State Farm will call it a total loss just because the car is 54 years old. They won't be able to estimate the cost to fix it because there is no way for them to know the cost of replacement parts. If that is the case, do I automatically get an opportunity to "buy back" my Cutlass and try to fix it myself? Will they only pay off the lien? How will they determine what my 442 was worth? Is it based on what I paid for it last year?
OMG, I have never wished so hard that something like this didn't happen! I had the car towed to my own driveway. I have to see it starring me in the face every time I come home. Its only been two days and it fells like an eternity.
Old July 9th, 2018, 02:29 AM

Sorry for your loss.