General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Conventional vs synthetic fluids

Search this Thread

Old January 9th, 2018, 05:10 PM

Conventional vs synthetic fluids

Hi,
I just purchased a 85 Toro with 88K on it, I was wondering if it would be beneficial using synthetic fluids? The car runs great and previous owner states engine does not burn oil. I was just curious if the car would benefit using synthetics.

Any thoughts?
Tony
Old January 9th, 2018, 05:37 PM
Phantom Phixer

I have been using Mobil One in my cars for 40 years. Best thing you can do for an engine . I usually change it every 10,000 miles (just cause I feel guilty) .
The wear protection is far superior to conventional oil . And , these days it really doesn't cost that much more .
The extended drain interval alone makes it more economical.
In the transmission though , stick with Dexron III/Mercon . These transmissions were not built for synthetic fluid

Last edited by Charlie Jones; January 9th, 2018 at 05:39 PM.
Old January 9th, 2018, 06:07 PM

I do not advocate changing an engine to synthetic unless it's new or rebuilt, and done just after the initial change. Rear ends and manual trans, sure, any time. Auto trans I have not thought about and agree with Charlie.
Old January 9th, 2018, 07:30 PM

Something to think about with synthetics. I tried them on my 55 and developed new weeping valve and pan gaskets. All were cork type and that might have been the reason, I don't know but they stopped after I went back to dino oil. Your millage may differ.... Tedd
Old January 9th, 2018, 08:37 PM