General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

What have you learned on this site?

Search this Thread

Old September 14th, 2008, 09:55 AM

What have you learned on this site?

I think it's hilarious that it says "senior member" under my username. I'm not a mechanic by trade. My dad never had an interest in picking up a wrench and therefore most of what I learn is on the fly or by doing it twice. There's been times when I haven't even had a garage to tinker in and I've got work and family obligations that consume my time. I am however a car guy that relies on this site for direction as I work on my 68 cutlass. For those of you like me, I thought I'd put up a short list of some of the things I learned here, and if your not like me, say thanks to the guys with extensive knowledge, and ask them to be patient with us since many things about fixing cars are not so obvious.
1. When installing an engine, loosten the engine mounts to facilitate alignment.
2. Do not torque control arm bolts without weight on the front end.
3. Oil restrictors and deep sump pans are not required on every engine build.
4. What a heater control valve is and what it does.
5. How to inexpensively put a front disk brake section together.
6. That a torch works great to remove old control arm bushings.
I'm sure many more I'm not thinking of at this moment.

Got other tips?
Old September 14th, 2008, 11:43 AM
same but different

You are very considerate to give thanks. This site is a great resource to help us enjoy our hobby. Nice point to bring up for discussion.

I've learned alot of things here that are not even car related. I won't go there.

Early on, I found it essential to purchase a factory service manual. It is a great resource.

One should allways keep a fire extinguisher close--the air cleaner does two things, the other thing is a flame arrester.