General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Technicians

Search this Thread

Old November 12th, 2023, 05:40 AM

Technicians

Just curious: How many of us are mechanics/ technicians??
How many have been doing it most of your life and are still into cars/ drag racing?
Old November 12th, 2023, 07:53 AM

I’m a backyard mechanic, have done all my own automotive work since high school.
Old November 12th, 2023, 08:11 AM

Originally Posted by Fun71
I’m a backyard mechanic, have done all my own automotive work since high school.
Cool!
Old November 12th, 2023, 08:32 AM
Administrator

Most of us are still into cars or we wouldn't be here. Growing up we had a family gas station with 2 bays and leased the rear part of the building to a body shop. I've done a stint in auto restoration back in the 80's and have been working cars as a hobby most of my life. I have not been to a dragstrip for probably 30 years. Englishtown Raceway was my second home back in the mid to late 70's.

Last edited by oldcutlass; November 12th, 2023 at 08:44 AM.
Old November 12th, 2023, 08:39 AM
Phantom Phixer

I started out working after school as a mechanic's helper, and floorsweeper at Chevy, Pontiac, & Buick agency at age 16 in 1966.
I remember doing pre-delivery inspections on GTO's and Z-28"S.
After that I spent 4 & 1/2 years in the Air Force as a jet fighter mechanic .
Then I worked at various automotive jobs including automotive machine work. Until 1985.
I worked repairing heavy duty trucks and buses until I retired in 2012.
Presently, I'm doing a nut and bolt restoration on a 1963 Dynamic 88 Holiday Coupe.
1963 Dynamic 88 2dr hdtp. restoration - ClassicOldsmobile.com
Old November 12th, 2023, 09:14 AM