General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

how do AN fittings work?

Search this Thread

Old March 7th, 2016, 06:44 AM

how do AN fittings work?

Im in the stages of my build were things are going to start going together and I was thinking about all my hoses. I want my build to look a lil cleaner than stock and was thinking of making all braided lines for my engine compartment. not interested in doing the fake kit as i've done that before. i want the real deal. the problem is i dont understand how they work. like for example is there a fitting that couples with the tube that comes off my heater core? is there a fitting that couples with the PVC port off an edlebrock carb? i have zero plumbing experience. the only part i think i have figured out is how to actually make the hose after i watched a youtube video. any knowledge you can drop on me would be appreciated.
Old March 7th, 2016, 07:00 AM

Unless you start that engineering process at the beginning, it will not be easy. As you noted, how do you mate a flared fitting to...
Radiator
heater core
water pump
etc.

A carb and fuel pump should not be too bad because they already use inverted flare fittings. Just need an adapter or the proper carb to hose fitting w/o an adapter.

Thus the popularity of the lookalike kits
you get the look, at first glance, and the SS exterior protection, but easy to install w/o a lot of expensive mods.

Unless you are building an aircraft or marine craft, real AN hoses may just not be right for your application.
Old March 7th, 2016, 07:09 AM
Old(s) Fart

I'll answer a little differently, as I've done this before.

First, understand that the braided hose is just that, rubber hose with a stainless overbraid. The rubber eventually deteriorates, just like any rubber hose.