General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Gas prices top $4 a gallon in 6 states.

Search this Thread

Old April 17th, 2011, 06:43 PM
71 & 72,now I want a 68

Gas prices top $4 a gallon in 6 states.

It's no secret gas is on the climb,when and where will it stop?
The article here says 6 states have hit $4.00 a gallon and I'm sure there are plenty more that are close behind.

http://xfinity.comcast.net/articles/...US.Gas.Prices/

Old April 17th, 2011, 06:54 PM

up here just north of Toronto we are paying 1.34 a litre which works out to 5.36 a US gallon, we passed 4.00 /gallon a year ago
Old April 17th, 2011, 07:19 PM

Well for my 442 who cares.....I have been paying $9/gal for leaded premium for 2 years now!!!!
Old April 17th, 2011, 07:24 PM

I hope it goes back down, but most predictions I've seen say it will make the $5.00 mark this time. John
Old April 17th, 2011, 07:31 PM
Oldsdruid

As long as futures traders and speculators have any excuse to drive the price up, it will keep going up. And they'll wreck the economy again just like they did last time. It's past time to re-regulate oil trading.

Some NC State University economist was prattling a couple months back about how rising gas prices signaled economic recovery. I remember thinking then let it hit 4 bucks a gallon and see how quick the economy goes back in the toilet.

Same economist has rethought his position in the past couple weeks and now says if it doesn't stop the economy is headed back into deeper recession.

Ya reckon?
Old April 17th, 2011, 08:16 PM

at the end of the day, so what.

I'm sure you wont stop driving your car, we get this in Australia all the time and right now its over $6 gallon, and I'm sure in the UK its higher and then scandinavia its probably $10 or $12 gallon. It is what it is.

Do I like it? hell no. but if I played golf I would have club fee's, if I skydived or scuba dived it would be some other consumable cost.