General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

fuel restrictor

Search this Thread

Old October 31st, 2013, 11:33 AM

fuel restrictor

Has anyone heard of a fuel restrictor in the return line on 66 442 4 bbl. carb. car? It is located at the tank of the car? What about 2 bbl carb or tri-power cars ? On a 4 bbl carb car without it would you run out of gas on full power run? Food for thought or over kill by a engineer?

Last edited by flatlander442; October 31st, 2013 at 11:38 AM. Reason: missed word
Old October 31st, 2013, 12:02 PM

I have never heard of that although I am by no means an expert on the matter.

It has always been my understanding that all tri carb cars have different fuel pumps than the 4 bbl.

As far as running out of gas upon WOT , I seriously doubt that.

My tri-carb has never even hiccupped on WOT.

Dave
Old October 31st, 2013, 12:26 PM

Originally Posted by L69 equipped
I have never heard of that although I am by no means an expert on the matter.

It has always been my understanding that all tri carb cars have different fuel pumps than the 4 bbl.

As far as running out of gas upon WOT , I seriously doubt that.

My tri-carb has never even hiccupped on WOT.

Dave
Old October 31st, 2013, 12:40 PM

try this again!! I was reading my 66 assemble manual trying to figure out if the return line went on top or the bottom of main fuel line, and I saw a picture of the fuel line restrictor that is inside the return hose at the gas tank and it said 4 bbl carb only. So I dug out my old return line and tried to blow through it and it was plugged, cut it open and there it was! And it was plugged up. Its 1 inch long inlet hole is about 1/8 and outlet is pin hole size. Wonder how many people know that?!! Return line was useless!! does 1/4 inch return line go on top or below main fuel line on frame ?
Old October 31st, 2013, 01:16 PM

Dave

Interesting.