General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

close call, dumb/innocent, lucky/unlucky ?????

Search this Thread

Old August 13th, 2009, 08:10 AM
Loose Radical

close call, dumb/innocent, lucky/unlucky ?????

Long story long…………
I have been fighting this ’65 for two years. It was supposed to be a quick drop in a gas tank and go. Well, I might have been able to it if I closed my eyes to everything else. Motor turned out to have some bad rings. All bushings were shot. Body mounts rotted out. Electrical spliced with romex and lamp cord and melted all over…………

Found a decent 330 and trans, swapped in, cleaned and painted frame, redid all the suspension bushings, cut open the body mount areas and repaired, new gas tank, new complete trunk floor, fixed all the leaks around windows, half way through the re-wire.
I finally got to the point I can turn the key to engage the starter and crank the motor over. Then I tested the coil and distributor and was getting spark to the plugs. Time for a splash of gas………………

I don’t have the linkage in place from the pedal to the carb yet (looking for right rod), had issues with starters locking up so front end was in the air. Had rear wheels chucked so it would not roll back, had floor jack under front cross member, and two 8 ton jack stands under the front frame. A little gas into the vent tube, go the dash, turn the key…nothing…….nothing……………nothing……....pop….pop….. pop…..pop.. (promising)

Time to get a steady stream of gas. Test to make sure the fuel pump works, (it did after a while), get a can of gas and some hose, (getting excited).

I crank over the car and it starts but idling rough, I run to the engine and start work the carb trying to keep it from dying. As I am working the throttle the RPMs climb a little and the car jumps forward!!!!!!!! WTF……….back to the dash to turn off key.