General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

The beginning...

Search this Thread

Old June 9th, 2019, 11:19 AM

The beginning...

So if this is the wrong place let me know be happy to move it...if not here we go. ~ MattGwar

Ok so I am new to the Olds world and I have a 65 cutlass convertible, 330 high compression with the jetaway transmission. Body and interior I want to keep neet and clean, likely not orig color, otherwise keep it as close as possible to orig.
I do not know what h.p. builds are really are available. At this time, all I will be doing a front brake convesion. The car's current state, after sitting since 99 it will now start on it's own, and move a bit. Stoping requires outside assistance still =)
So here I am in the budget phase of a build I am unsure on, looking for suggestions. No I don't want a weekend only dragster, but I don't mind turning a head or two or a surprised look on a couple faces.

So back around to engine suggestions for budgeting.... and GO!
Old June 9th, 2019, 02:40 PM

Your first change should be to swap in a 350 transmission and get rid of the Jetaway. It is a direct bolt in swap with a few electrical added wires and a shifter mechanism change from the two speed to a three speed.
Old June 9th, 2019, 05:29 PM

Agree a transmission upgrade to a TH350 would be a good first move...depending upon his budget an upgrade to 200R4 would be even better or a 4 speed. I like the 330HC, good motor, steel crank. Put a timing chain in it before it is too late.
Old June 9th, 2019, 06:56 PM

First thing would be to get it running well in stock form and cleaned up. Then we can talk upgrades. 4 wheel drums stop very well for cruiser duty.

What rear end does it have?
Old June 9th, 2019, 07:52 PM

What rear end does it have?
From what I can tell with a quick look it's the 8.2BOP
Old June 10th, 2019, 04:35 AM

Upgrade later. Worry about stopping now. What do you mean "needs assistance when stopping"?