General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

403 Olds build Mentor

Search this Thread

Old December 12th, 2016, 07:15 AM

403 Olds build Mentor

Hey Guys, I am looking for someone who would like to mentor me through my first engine build. Someone who wouldn't mind me private messaging them stupid questions all the time. I am brand new at this so I am going to need help.

I am build a 403 on a limited budget, looking to bring up the HP but not looking to have a 400hp car. I have 330 #3 heads forthe build. Getting ready to order pistons but want to make sure I get the correct ones.

if interested private message me or comment below thanks guys.
Old December 12th, 2016, 07:28 AM

You can post in one of the other forums and just make it a running discussion. Or pick one of the builders (BTR, Mark, etc) and have them work with you. Or pick an existing combo from ROP.
400 hp on a 403 with decent heads is very easy. I'm at 450 hp with a Lunati 60803 cam. Idle is pretty lumpy in town, but runs great and goes anywhere.
403 piston choices are pretty limited. Stock replacement cast, which mean using an earlier head to get decent compression, or the KB flats and use a big block head. Once upon a time there were forged flat tops made and sets show up from time to time. I'm thinking there's one other option out there - a flat cast?

IMO the cam is the most important choice, but everything has to work together. It's a good idea to start a thread with your planned combo (car, rear gear, tire size, tranny, any engine parts you're set on using) and goals (daily driver, weekend cruiser, bracket racer, max effort, etc).
Old December 12th, 2016, 08:49 AM
71 cutlass convertible

Here is hoping you make it a build thread, so we(me) can follow along. It is something I hope to be able to do in the future.
Old December 12th, 2016, 09:06 AM
delete

If you are on Realoldspower.com reach out to Dr Dan
Old December 12th, 2016, 10:01 AM

Originally Posted by lshlsh2